Remembering 9/11

Yesterday was the tenth anniversary of 9/11. It was hard to believed that it been ten years since the attacks. I was watching the 9/11 documentaries and specials last night on tv, and watching the footage of the second tower collapsing made me almost sick to my stomach. I remembered seeing it live on the news and thought that it wasn’t real. Now, watching the same footage again ten years later and knowing how many lives were lost, it just made me sick and sad.

I was 17 years old when 9/11 happened. It was the beginning of my senior year in high school. I remembered waking up to KROQ’s Kevin & Bean and they were telling me about the World Trade Center in New York being hit by a plane. I didn’t take it seriously at first, but I then realized that they were not joking. I went to school and everyone was watching the live news coverage on tv. We were just transfixed by it. When we saw the second tower fell on live news, I remembered the class gasped and not quite believing that both towers were not there anymore. It didn’t looked real at all. I thought it looked like a scene out of the Hollywood movie. It was until later when I learned how many lives were killed. So many innocent lives. All those souls lost in WTC, Pentagon, and on United 93. I will never ever forget about that day.

On a happier note, the 9/11 memorial is now open at Ground Zero. It’s a beautiful memorial . They left where the two towers once stood alone and made these waterfalls fountains. It look peaceful and serene. I want to visit it when I go to New York. Last time I was in New York was in 2004. I went to see Ground Zero and it was a solemn place. Very quiet except for the construction noises. The place have changed a lot since that time. For the better.

Leave a Reply

