It Does Sounds Right

I can think of two words that sound like the thing they describe: takeout and hybrid.

Takeout has such a literal meaning. Go to a restaurant and order for takeout.  It sounds exactly what it means. Buy food and take it out somewhere to eat it. I can see images of those styrofoam containers when I think about the word takeout. The ones with a happy face and it said “Have a nice day” on it.

Hybrid also sounds like what it describe which means two different things that are joined together. When I hear or see that word, I think about hybrid cars like the Prius or that Lexus CT 200h  hatchback. Sometimes when I look at something, like the ramen burger or the cronut, it just speaks hybrid to me.

So, yeah, these two words do sound like what they describe. Well, to me.

 

Leave a Reply

