Existence of Sir Andy

Sir Andy who is also known simply as Andy is my adopted schnauzer mix terrier. I found him through Petsfinder one day five years ago. Despite his advanced age, he was listed as between 9 or 10 years old, I was ready to adopt him. There is a for adoption video of him and after watching it, I was in love. The one up and one down ears are adorable! I contacted the organization, Jason Heigl Foundation, that rescued him from the local shelter and turned out that they were having an adoption fair that weekend. It was at Los Feliz which was a bit of a drive from Orange County, but I didn’t care. I wanted to see this little guy. The adoption process was relatively easy and he was home with me a week later. Before he was Sir Andy, his name was Mogli. Sir Andy, I think, suits him much better.

I adopted him in February and we have been together for five years now. Andy had changed a lot since then. I don’t know his past history and his upbringing (I longed to see his puppy pictures). He was definitely someone’s dog because he is house-trained and knew how to behave well. His good behavior is based on food which will always be his motivation. For the first few months after I adopted him, he was very quiet and seemed afraid to look up at me. It took awhile for Andy to adjust to his new home and have complete trust on me. His personality today is different from five years ago. He got that grumpy old man personality who is really sweet inside. Andy enjoys telling me what to do. He is such a laid back old dude and will suck up to other people for attention.

He’s my stress reliever, foot warmer, body warmer, cuddling buddy, and my old sweet grumpy man. All I know is that Andy cannot vanish without a trace.

Here is Andy’s for adoption video which is still on YouTube. I still like watching it.

Sir Andy in December 2014. After a trip to the groomer.

Andy 2014

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Do or Die.”

1 thought on “Existence of Sir Andy”

Leave a Reply

