Good-Bye, Appa Odiga

Dad, Where Are You Going? also known as Appa Odiga is over. I watched the last episode, the graduation trip, and it was a bit sad. I don’t know if there is going to be a season 3 with new cast of dads and kids, but it seems like wishful thinking. Season 2 of the show didn’t have that same magic as season 1 where the families went to rural villages together and had to rough it. There were some rural trips, but mostly a lot of trips around the city. And the families were separated a lot. Despite the flaws, I still watched it for the kids.

Thanks to Appa Odiga, it got me interested in other Korean variety shows. Notably, Running Man. In an odd way, it also made me more interested in Asian dramas. I’m glad that Hulu Plus offers Korean dramas in English subtitles. I’ve watched Tree with Deep Roots, The Duo, Sungkyunkwan Scandal,The Thousandth Man, Arang and the Magistrate, Rooftop Prince, Queen In-Hyun’s Man, Dating Agency: Cyrano, and Secret Garden through Hulu Plus. For some reason, I prefer watching Korean and Japanese dramas over Chinese dramas. I tried watching Chinese dramas and even though it help me with my Mandarin skills, it doesn’t hold my interest. Seriously, Korean dramas are addictive.

Anyway, good-bye Appa Odiga. Thanks for all the cute, sweet, funny, and endearing moments.

Graduation trip, Appa Odiga

Leave a Reply

