Serial Season 2: Bowe Bergdahl 

Last year, I was hooked on Serial when I heard the very first episode. Baltimore teenage love/true crime murder mystery. It was intriguing and I was hooked. I still have so many questions even though the first season ended. I was excited when I heard that season 2 was coming soon, but I had doubts because the rumor had it that it was about Bowe Bergdahl. I just don’t know if it can be as good of a story as Adnan Syed and Hae Min Lee.

Well, season two of Serial is about Bowe Bergdahl and it turned out to be somewhat interesting. My doubts are due to my bias. I served in the US Army and I’m a veteran. I know how the Army works and I can understand how those soldiers felt when Bergdahl deliberately left his post in Afghanistan. I don’t have good opinions on Bergdahl and I still think he needs to be court-martial. But listening to the first two episodes let me understand this person a little bit and the reasons why he did it. It’s important to know that one decision can lead to heavy consequences and in Bergdahl’s case, global consequences. I think this is what Serial is presenting to their listeners for season two. 

However, the Baltimore teenage love/true crime murder mystery of Adnan Syed and Hae Min Lee is still much more intriguing than Bowe Bergdahl. At least, Sarah Koenig is really good at explaining how the Army works to everyday civilians. 

Leave a Reply

